Edibles · Garden · Seeds

Seeds of the Month Club #6

December was my half way mark into my one year subscription to the Seeds of the Month Club from Mike the Gardener. Each month I receive four seed packets in the mail. Each month is a surprise so I’m bound to get some that I’ve never tried growing or maybe even eating. It’s a great way to try something new. The goodies that arrived for December…

Lettuce, Tom Thumb
Turnips, White Egg
Cabbage, Brunswick
Lovage

Tom Thumb is an heirloom small green butterhead lettuce that gets about 3”-4” in diameter and matures quickly around 34 days. It is slow to bolt in the heat so it would be a good one to grow in our southern desert climate. It would still be a cool season veggie but one that will last a bit longer once it starts getting real hot. In other climates it would be a good one for the summer.

I’ve never grown turnips or cabbage and I really can’t think of the last time I ate either of them. At one point, I wanted to try making my own fermented veggies and of course sauerkraut is an obviously choice. My one attempt at making it was a failure. I didn’t have a fermenting crock which doesn’t seem to be a necessity from what I’ve read but I think it would’ve turned out better if I had one.  My dad has one that he’s been meaning to bring over so maybe I’ll grow some cabbage next year and see what I can make with it.

I think the best part of this seed shipment was Comedian’s reaction to it. I was looking at the packets and she grabbed one out of my hand and started yelling, “Roots!” over and over again.  I couldn’t figure out what she was trying to tell me until I saw her waving the turnip packet around. She could tell from the picture that they are roots. That was a proud gardening momma moment!

Leave a Reply

