Garden · Garden Books

Newest Additions to My Garden Library

 

New Garden Books
New Garden Books

I scored some great deals on garden books this week! I have plenty already but I just couldn’t pass these up. I went to a monthly meeting of our local rose society. Roses are one of the first plants I learned to grow and this group has helped tremendously. One of the ladies there recently attended the Fall National Convention of the American Rose Society and had purchased two cases of Modern Roses 12 books. This is the latest edition in the series dating back to 1930 from the American Rose Society. It lists the details of all the rose cultivars registered through May 2007. She was selling these books for $10 which would cover her costs. The list price is $99.95. It sounded like they are being discontinued perhaps in preparation for a new edition but I wasn’t able to find anything online in a few quick searches. For $10 I just couldn’t pass this one up.

When our oldest was born I searched the internet for a rose with her name. Many roses are named after famous people so I figured that there was a good chance of finding one however my searches came up with nothing. When our youngest was born I wasn’t really interested in growing roses anymore. We were living in a small apartment so I was using what little balcony space we had to grow edibles. I still loved roses but it didn’t really occur to me to look for a rose with her name. I had no place to plant it back then.  Now with this book, I looked up all of our names and there is a rose for each of us. I think we’ll find a place at our new house to plant our “family” of roses! The hard part is going to be tracking these plants down but I think it will be worth a try.

Today I was out running errands and came across some used books. I was looking more for the girls but I took a peek in the gardening section and found 10,000 Garden Questions (Answered by 10 Experts) Volumes 1 and 2. The first edition was published in 1944. These are the second edition which was published in 1959.  It will be interested to see how much home gardening practices have changed in the last 50 or so years. For $3 each, I figured why not?

For another $3 I found Green Pharmacy: New Discoveries in Herbal Remedies for Common Diseases and Conditions from the World’s Foremost Authority on Healing Herbs by James A. Duke, Ph.D. This was published in 1997 and he’s written other similar books since then. I came across his work through my interest in using medicinal plants for health and wellness. That hobby actually developed before gardening and the two go hand in hand nicely.  One of our goals at our new house is to plant some of medicinal herbs that we use regularly.

So for less than $20 I ended up adding four great books to my garden/herb library this week. I’ve actually been thinking lately of finding a new garden book to read but I was planning a visit to the library. Instead, I just stumbled upon these.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

